Agenda March 5, 2024

Agenda for Tuesday, March 5, 2024, 6:00 PM until approx. 8:00 PM

Normal Heights Community Center

4649 Hawley Avenue

(Bicycle and mobility devices may be parked inside)

Via Zoom at

Via telephone: 1 689-278-1000 Meeting ID: 626 390 4190


  1. Opening “reflection”
  2. Introductions of Board members. Virtual attendees are encouraged to enter their name for a record of their attendance in “Chat” or, if participating by audio only, to introduce themselves verbally. A reminder that other Chat entries will not be monitored by the Chair and are not considered official communications, even if to or from Board members.
  3. Agenda Setting/modifications (Note: items may be addressed out of listed order and time)
  4. Approval of meeting minutes for December as sent via email – Chair
  5. Treasurer’s Report – Treasurer/ Frances Prichett

6:15 Non-Agenda Public Comment

  1. Non-Agenda Public Comment regarding NH land use & related NH community issues (2min pp).
  2. Digital Communications Monitoring from, Nextdoor, Facebook, Email, etc. 

6:30 Action/Decision Items (Board member roll call may be performed for recording votes)

  • Formation of election committee to publicize the election to be held in April. – Chair
  • Presentation “SANDAG Airport Transit Concepts” by – Alex Wong of Ride SD
  • Review of Land Development Code Update – Chair

7:45 Reports/Updates

  • City, County, and State government agency representatives, if present.
    • District 9 Councilmember Elo-Rivera – Ben MendozaMayor’s Office – Lucero Maganda
    • County Supervisor Monica Montgomery Steppe (or representative) 
    • State Senator Atkins –Andi McNew Assembly Member Ward – Christopher Gris 
    • District 51 U.S. Congressmember Sara Jacobs (or representative)
  • Chair report on Community Planners Committee
    • Ad hoc subcommittee to submit to the County Grand Jury regarding SD Planning Dept.
  • Community Group updates when present
    • Adams Avenue Business Association – Scott Kessler
    • El Cajon Boulevard Business Improvement Association – Gary Weber
    • NH Community Association and NH Urban Arts – Greg Stone/Norma Stafford
    • Adams “Community Recreation Advisory Group” – Nancy Lawler
  • NH for Smart Growth – Paul Coogan

Standing Committees

  1. Joint Mid-City Communities Plan Update Committee – Greg Stone, Scott Kessler, Emily
  2. Historical Property Review Report – Dan Soderberg

Advisory Committees

  1. Nominating Committee – Greg Stone, Jim Baross
  2. Utility Undergrounding & Street Lighting MAD – Emilie Colwell & Francis Prichett
  3. Community Garden – Paul Coogan
  4. Tree Replacements – Greg Stone, Emilie Colwell, Gerald Schoelen
  5. Traffic Issue Taskforce (Report on Vision Zero) – Allan Harjala 
  6. Community Engagement Poll – Paul Coogan

8:15 Adjournment

Instructions for participating in the live teleconferenced meeting may be found at